Nobel Prize in economics goes to three Americans

Portraits of US trio Eugene F Fama, Lars Peter Hansen and Robert J Shiller, who won jointly the Nobel Prize in Economic Sciences 2013, is seen on a computer screen at the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, in Stockholm, on October 14, 2013.

The Nobel Committee has awarded the Nobel Prize in economics to three Americans: Eugene Fama, Lars Peter Hansen, and Robert Shiller. The trio has focused on the behavior of the stock market as well as the efficiency of markets. Marketplace’s Nancy Marshall Genzer joins David Brancaccio to discuss the economists and their work. 

About the author

Nancy Marshall-Genzer is a senior reporter for Marketplace based in Washington, D.C. covering daily news.


I agree to American Public Media's Terms and Conditions.
With Generous Support From...

Sustainability Coverage

  • The Kendeda Fund
  • Wealth & Poverty Coverage

  • The Ford Foundation