Starting this year, California pet stores can only sell dogs, cats and rabbits if they come from a rescue or animal shelter. While cities have adopted similar laws, California is the first to extend the rule statewide. The goal is to relieve some of the state’s overcrowded shelters and save some of the $250 million taxpayers spend to house and euthanize rescue animals. Any pet stores that don’t prove their animals are rescues could face a misdemeanor and a $500 fine per pet.
Click the audio player above to hear the full story.
If you’re a member of your local public radio station, we thank you — because your support helps those stations keep programs like Marketplace on the air. But for Marketplace to continue to grow, we need additional investment from those who care most about what we do: superfans like you.
Your donation — as little as $5 — helps us create more content that matters to you and your community, and to reach more people where they are – whether that’s radio, podcasts or online.
When you contribute directly to Marketplace, you become a partner in that mission: someone who understands that when we all get smarter, everybody wins.