Power Marketplace’s public service journalism 💙 Give Now
Marketplace Music

Playlist: Online privacy and electricity

Chau Tu Dec 1, 2010

Posted by Chau Tu

For Marketplace, Wednesday, December 1, 2010

The Federal Trade Commission released a report today on online privacy, and its chairman urged for the establishment of a Do Not Track system. The Federal Reserve also released some big information today — the names and numbers involved in the bank bailout. The White House announced that it’s reversing its decision on offshore drilling in the mid- and southern Atlantic coast and the west coast of Florida. Unemployment funding officially ran out today, but as Mitchell Hartman reports, this may not be helping the economy. Scott Tong, reporting from the Cancun climate conference, reported on states and companies who are taking the initiative on switching to clean energy, and the pros and cons. Commentator Robert Reich says the federal deficit should take a back seat. And here are the songs we played:

  • Paper Planes (M.I.A.) – Instrumental Hip Hop Beat MakersBuy
  • A.D.I.D.A.S. – Killer MikeBuy
  • Young + Restless – D-TensionBuy
  • The Boys in the Band – Gentle GiantBuy
  • Killing for Love (Terje Brokeback Remix) – Jose GonzalezBuy

There’s a lot happening in the world.  Through it all, Marketplace is here for you. 

You rely on Marketplace to break down the world’s events and tell you how it affects you in a fact-based, approachable way. We rely on your financial support to keep making that possible. 

Your donation today powers the independent journalism that you rely on. For just $5/month, you can help sustain Marketplace so we can keep reporting on the things that matter to you.  

This is NOT a paywall. 

Marketplace is community-funded public service journalism. Give in any amount that works for you – what matters is that you give today.