🚗 🚙 Turn your trusty old car into trustworthy journalism Learn more
Marketplace Music

Playlist: Obama’s moves

Daryl Paranada Sep 10, 2010

Posted by Daryl Paranada

For Marketplace Morning Report, Friday, September 10, 2010

President Obama held his eighth White House news conference. We discussed what he said on today’s show. He also got a new top economic adviser, Austan Goolsbee. We traveled around the U.S. for other stories. In California, a proposition may stop the state from reducing greenhouse gas emissions. In Memphis, Tenn., residents don’t seem to mind airport noise. In New York City near Ground Zero, we spoke with businesses to see whether the proposed Islamic center and mosque would help boost their bottom lines. In D.C., the Pentagon is getting serious about cutting costs. We learn how suppliers are reacting. Internationally, fake honey is becoming an issue in Israel. And finally, OPEC turns 50. These are the songs we played:

  • Living Proof — Cat PowerBuy
  • The Garden You Planted — Sea WolfBuy
  • Keep Up — Motor City Drum EnsembleBuy
  • Hey Mama Wolf — Devendra BanhartBuy
  • Seventeen Years — RatatatBuy

There’s a lot happening in the world.  Through it all, Marketplace is here for you. 

You rely on Marketplace to break down the world’s events and tell you how it affects you in a fact-based, approachable way. We rely on your financial support to keep making that possible. 

Your donation today powers the independent journalism that you rely on. For just $5/month, you can help sustain Marketplace so we can keep reporting on the things that matter to you.