Germany's been weathering criticism all over Europe for the way it's handled the debt crisis in Greece, but Saturday the Eurozone gave Germany some love in the annual Eurovision song contest, placing teenage pop singer Lena Mayer-Landrut number one with her song "Satellite". Germany beat 24 other countries to take home the win for the first time in 28 years. It's also become the first country to win of the contest's "Big Four", which includes the U.K., France, Spain and Germany. These countries are automatically entered every year because of their financial contribution to the contest.

Although musical contest shows are considered the norm today, the Eurovision song contest has been going on for over 50 years. Here is an insightful recap of the country and song that won each year from 1956-2005.