Beware of the 14 deadly sins

The spires of St. Patrick's Cathedral in New York City.


Doug Krizner: Economic progress has brought humanity a new range of temptations. That's according to the Roman Catholic Church. After 1,500 years, the Vatican has just updated the seven deadly sins -- by adding seven new ones. From the European Desk, Stephen Beard reports.

Stephen Beard: Pride, envy, gluttony, lust, wrath, greed and sloth are still mortal sins, says the Vatican. But in recent decades, some new sins have appeared on the horizon. Many of them have something to do with money.

After a week-long seminar, the Papal authorities have drawn up a additional modern list of seven deadly sins.

Becoming obscenely wealthy is one of them. Causing people to suffer poverty is another. And now, polluting the environment is also a grave offence against God.

The Vatican argues that globalization, while inherently beneficial, has fuelled an upsurge in selfishness and hedonism. Also on the new list: drug abuse, social injustice and genetic manipulation.

In London, this is Stephen Beard for Marketplace.

About the author

Stephen Beard is the European bureau chief and provides daily coverage of Europe’s business and economic developments for the entire Marketplace portfolio.


I agree to American Public Media's Terms and Conditions.
With Generous Support From...